The Perils of owning an iPhone

3 02 2009

Today, my iPhone died.

No idea why, but whilst developing an application for it using Xcode, I lost the ability to deploy my application to my phone. Xcode told me to try restarting my phone… I did, and my perfectly working phone never managed to make it back to my normal home screen. After staring at the "Emergency calls only" screen for a while, I tried the various things one does at this point.

  1. Restore the phone using iTunes – except that iTunes couldn’t see the Phone.
  2. Remember that Xcode can do restore and use that… the restore fails halfway through "BBand update error".
  3. Try restoring with Xcode again. This succeeds, but the iPhone needs to be "activated through iTunes.
  4. Open iTunes, which offers to restore the phone from a backup. After trying this, I return to step 1 with a broken phone again.
  5. Bang phone against the desk a few times. Didn’t help.

Carphone Warehouse (where I got the phone) won’t be able to do much more than send the phone to Apple, so I’ll probably make a trip to the Apple Store instead. In the meantime, I’m trying to restore the phone from XCode again, and merely activate the phone through iTunes, rather than restoring a backup. Let’s see if that works…

UPDATE (2 minutes later): No it didn’t. Phone is asking for emergency calls only, iTunes says "There is a problem with your iPhone". I’d guessed this.


Actions

Information

2 responses

7 02 2009
Liz

Instead of banging the phone against the desk, have you thought about the next step of banging your head against a brick wall? Please don’t! Try the Apple store first, though you may have to wait for the replacement….. thoroughly annoying I know.

17 02 2009
Ben

Had to wait a whole 40 minutes for a replacement, and had the inconvenience of meeting Stephen Fry whilst I was there. But then you’ll already know that from Facebook 😉

Leave a comment